Author Topic: Analog Drum temperature and digital BT, first time roaster  (Read 11857 times)

Offline gintaras

• Solid or Perf: Solid
Analog Drum temperature and digital BT, first time roaster
« on: February 13, 2015, 01:53:05 PM »
I am new to roasting, and I'm not sure what you call the drum temperature probe, DT?
I ordered my Huky with an additional digital probe, but I never specified where I would like it installed, and when I received it, it was installed above the drum, as far as I can tell, this is what is referred to as an MET probe. In hindsight, I would have had it installed to read the drum temperature instead.

My question is, because I want to get started right away, at least try roasting, should I just leave it as is? Or would it be beneficial to move the digital probe from the MET location to the drum location, basically swapping the analog and MET positions.

And I going to have enough data to go off of by just using a drum temperature (pre-drop), charge temperature, and bean temperature?

I feel like I am going to have to guess at the drum temperature once the beans are roasting, and I don't know what temperature to shoot for. 

Is the MET probe beneficial in the scenario where I don't have an accurate DT reading (due to the Celcius analog gauge)?

Sorry for all the newbie questions, but that is what I am, a complete newbie, I have never roasted coffee at all.  I have looked at the resources section here, but not really finding what I am looking for, such as what the drum temperature should be for your drop temp, and where to keep the bean temp during the roast..

I would love to sit in on a roasting session with someone if there is anyone in the Chicago area.

Offline jyalpert

• Solid or Perf: Perforated
  • Serial Number: 560
  • J or T : J
  • Charge Weight : 350g
Re: Analog Drum temperature and digital BT, first time roaster
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 02:56:48 PM »
Hello,