Author Topic: New to roasting, a few questions about the Huky  (Read 6766 times)

Offline jeffdt

• Solid or Perf: Solid
  • Serial Number: 1096
  • J or T : T
New to roasting, a few questions about the Huky
« on: July 27, 2016, 03:30:29 PM »
Apologies in advance if my terminology is incorrect, I'm still learning :)

I've spent a few hours reading the forums + resource links, watching youtube videos, etc. and have gathered some great info. Having only spent some time roasting with popcorn poppers, I am used to a very straightforward roast with little control over the process (e.g. temperature, airflow). Being able to control these variables sounds great but at the same time having so little knowledge of how they affect the roast is intimidating.

Here are a few questions on my mind, if anyone could help me with any/all of these I would really appreciate it... I know there's a lot here!

1) If I wanted to do logging to my computer, what options with the Huky are necessary to select? I consider myself pretty computer-literate in general, but I'm inexperienced with interfacing with sensors. It's really confusing knowing which options I'd need. I'm unfamiliar with a lot of the terminology (thermocouples, MET, etc) but am eager to learn.

2) How necessary/desirable is it to set up for computer logging? If you opt not to do this and leave the stock analog readouts, is it still feasible to achieve consistent/"good" roasts? I would rather keep things simple if possible, but I will opt for this if it's something I'd regret skipping later.

3) Regarding ordering extra parts, my understanding is that people like to get a few extras to be able to remove the collected chaff and immediately release the roasted beans... is this correct? If so, which of the extra parts offered are needed for this? And are the other extras simply meant to be replacements if you lose/break the originals?