Author Topic: Length of Drying Phase  (Read 7184 times)

Offline Dogalish

Length of Drying Phase
« on: April 17, 2017, 09:03:24 AM »
Hi, I've done about 25 roasts on my Huky so I'm still really new to it all and am learning how to control the machine at the moment rather than trying to perfect a particular roast profile or do anything too advanced.   I have a solid drum and I'm using a charge weight of 350g and a charge temp of 180C in every roast and then experimenting with different airflow and heat combinations to see how those affect the progress of the roast.   

I've noticed that when charging 350g at 180C I reach the end of drying phase (150C on Artisan) at about 6:30 minutes and this doesn't change dramatically regardless of the airflow/heat combination I use.  I don't have a Variac but I am using a fan speed controller.

I think the quickest end of dry that I've managed is 6:08 when going straight to 4KPA after 30 secs (4KPA is the max I can get on burner that comes with the Huky).   My question is that when charging at 350g/180C,  should I be able to achieve a faster drying phase or does 6:30 seem about right?   

Offline SusanJoM

• Administrator
  • Solid or Perf: both/either
  • Serial Number: 454 (perf) 1243 (solid)
  • J or T : J
  • Charge Weight : 350 gm
Re: Length of Drying Phase
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2017, 09:37:17 AM »
Could you upload the .png file for that roast so we can see it?

And why have you chosen 180C as your charge temperature?

"There is a crack in everything, That's how the light gets in." Leonard Cohen.

Offline Dogalish

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2017, 10:10:06 AM »
Hi Susan, thanks for replying,  first time uploading a PNG file, hopefully this worked....

In this roast I went to 4kpa 30 seconds after charging then made the following heat adjustments:

8:30/175C - 3.5kpa
9:45/190C - 3kpa
10:30/202C - 2kpa
11:00/206C - 1kpa