Author Topic: Uk Ordering. Import duties? Setup questions.  (Read 10621 times)

Offline arowe724

Uk Ordering. Import duties? Setup questions.
« on: March 15, 2016, 01:52:16 PM »
I have been thinking of buying the Huky 500t

I am a complete newbie to roasting but love the hands on approach rather than a push and leave.
The setup I would like has solid drum and 72rpm motor.
Is the back of the solid drum (motor side) have any air holes?
Because surely if the fan starts it would create a vacuum? As of such say when you put the vacuum cleaner onto a pillow and it makes that high pitched noise.
Also digital Bean Temp / Environment temp / Temp above the drum? For monitoring with Artisan.
Maybe a push in the right direction for a thermocouple interface? Maybe phidgets?

Il also be getting an extra fan and extractor set up so I can use one as a permanent chaff collector. And the other as a cooling tray.

Also has anyone in the UK had to pay  major customs charges? Or shipping import taxes?

Any advice would be great!

Offline Gahwa

• Solid or Perf: Perforated
  • J or T : T
Re: Uk Ordering. Import duties? Setup questions.
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2016, 06:43:27 AM »
Hello arowe,

I am also based in the UK and I plan to order my Huky soon. I have done some extensive readings here and there, and I would like to share with you what I have learned to make some purchase decisions.

Is the back of the solid drum (motor side) have any air holes?
Yes, there is a pic of the that in other forums, you can google: solid drum huky 500 and it will pop.

Personally, i plan to order all three BT, ET and MET to be digital and connect them with the Center thermometer that Mr. Li sells. You could also use a phidgets, but I i see no difference in the price.