Author Topic: First time roasting espresso, sour and metallic flavors. Why?  (Read 10498 times)

Offline Joey

• Seeking blueberry notes
  • Solid or Perf: Perforated
  • Serial Number: 1130
  • J or T : T
First time roasting espresso, sour and metallic flavors. Why?
« on: August 07, 2017, 09:18:51 PM »
I'm pretty much brand new to Espresso, got my Lucca M58 this week.

I have been roasting for about 2 years and have a pretty decent feel for my Huky. Far from professional.

I roasted some of the Sweet Marias Decaf Espresso Donkey Blend. The green beans were about 12-18 months old but have been stored in a sealed ziplock bag indoors.

After 24 hours I decided to give them a try. I pulled two shots (20g dose) and they were at 50g yield in about 18-20 seconds. Both were extremely sour, more so than some of my other under extracted shots. I ground finer to get 50g in about 30 seconds, better but still sour. So I upped my brew temp from 200F to 204F. Still sour. I gave up for the night.

After 48 hours I wanted to give it another go, this time I ground even finer and pulled a shot that was about 30g in 30 seconds. Still sour.

After 5 days I tried again. Less sour but more metallic flavor.

After 8 days I tried it again. Hardly any sour flavors but very metallic. What is going on here? None of the other beans (professional or home roasts) have given me this much trouble. I haven't tasted anything metallic in any other bean so I don't think it's the water or machine.

I've attached my roast profile too. I'm open to suggestions of any kind. Thanks for reading.

Offline edtbjon

• Solid or Perf: Solid (Perforated in the closet)
  • Serial Number: 498
  • J or T : J (Trying out a Cyclone)
  • Charge Weight : 300-400g
Re: First time roasting espresso, sour and metallic flavors. Why?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 11:26:12 PM »