Author Topic: Logging stove kPa  (Read 7889 times)

Offline Agrajag

• Solid or Perf: Solid
  • J or T : J
Logging stove kPa
« on: May 26, 2016, 05:17:47 AM »
So because I'm new to using the huky I've found I've been concentrating on too many things during a roast to keep pressing buttons in artisan to log power, however I realise it's very useful data to have. So I was thinking about ways to do it, something like a pressure transducer hooked up to an arduino would be ideal, however they are a bit $$$ and I don't really feel safe messing around with gas + electronics.

Would a webcam with image recognition work to read the gauge? Well turns out it does! Bit of a hack, but it was actually pretty easy using simplecv (image processing library). I sticky taped a coloured piece of paper to the gauge needle (high tech!) for easier recognition, calculated the angle and converted that to the kPa reading. Output of this is easily fed into artisan using an additional program device.

https://youtu.be/sPWICQQQpXo

Red outline is needle recognition, green is another bit of coloured paper I put there for an angle reference, this way the webcam doesn't need to be precisely positioned. I've got a few little issues to sort out but will post the source code + instructions once I've tidied it up.

Offline rawman

• Solid or Perf: Starting with perforated but I have a solid as well
  • Serial Number: 842
  • J or T : T
Re: Logging stove kPa
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2016, 11:01:58 AM »
Very nice. 

Offline edtbjon

• Solid or Perf: Solid (Perforated in the closet)
  • Serial Number: 498
  • J or T : J (Trying out a Cyclone)
  • Charge Weight : 300-400g
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2016, 06:21:21 PM »