Author Topic: Hello everyone!  (Read 5030 times)

Offline KingSmono

• Solid or Perf: Perforated
  • Serial Number: 1102
  • J or T : T
Hello everyone!
« on: August 26, 2016, 05:06:00 AM »
Hello everyone!  I just received my Huky 500 T (#1102) and completed my first roast last night.  Everything went pretty well except I did manage to set off the smoke alarms in my house...  so I need to fine-tune my exhaust / smoke venting solution.  But overall I'm very happy with the Huky and excited to be a part of the club.   8)

I have been roasting for 4 years now, and have followed the typical progression: Hot air popper > Bread Machine / Heat Gun > BBQ / RK Drum > Huky 500 T.

I am excited about the level of control and information that the Huky provides when paired with Artisan.  I have Artisan 0.9.9 on a Rapsberry Pi 2 Model B running the latest version of Raspbian Jessie.  I am using an iPad to display Artisan over a VNC connection, which gives me wireless / touchscreen control of Artisan.  It was a challenge to get setup the way I wanted, but now that it's up and running I am very happy with how it turned out.  Big thanks to the user that made the Raspberry Pi / Artisan setup document in the downloads section of the forum.  It was a huge help!

Here are a couple pics of my setup, which I am sure will change as I get settled into my Huky routine (attached).

Offline hankua

• Global Moderator
  • Flame On!
  • Solid or Perf: Solid
  • Serial Number: 321
  • J or T : J
  • Charge Weight : 324g/454g
Re: Hello everyone!
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2016, 06:16:23 AM »
Awesome!
I'm impressed with the computer setup, just need to tidy up the venting. One solution would be one of those dual window fans. Or build a rectangular piece of plywood to fit the window and glue in a straight pile. With only one vent bowl in the setup a small vent in the window is going to help out after dumping the beans.