Author Topic: Greetings from the Old Pueblo! (Tucson, AZ)  (Read 6865 times)

Offline afelli

Greetings from the Old Pueblo! (Tucson, AZ)
« on: April 05, 2017, 03:47:52 PM »
Hey, all!

After lurking on the forum for months, I finally decided to create an account and introduce myself. I've been roasing in my oven, and then on a Behmor 1600+ for approximately 6 months.

Preheating the Behmor, making modifications with temperature probes, messing with the manual settings, and pulling the beans out while the drum is cooling all for what ultimately isn't an ideal BT profile has officially gotten on my nerves - I think it's finally time to upgrade to a Huky!  ;D

I'm sure you'll see me around asking all sorts of silly questions. Bear with me!

Before I start digging to deep in the forum - I'm hoping you all can answer a few quick questions for me:
  • Is there more common place to find used Huky roasters, aside from getting lucky on CL and Ebay?
  • If you had to go back, and purchase your entire machine over again.. What would you do differently?
  • Without digging too deeply into the politics of it all (haha!), Do you personally prefer the solid drum+fast motor, or the freedom of having "some" option between the two with the perforated drum+slow motor?

Thanks!

Offline SusanJoM

• Administrator
  • Solid or Perf: both/either
  • Serial Number: 454 (perf) 1243 (solid)
  • J or T : J
  • Charge Weight : 350 gm
Re: Greetings from the Old Pueblo! (Tucson, AZ)
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 04:22:03 PM »
or the freedom of having "some" option between the two with the perforated drum+slow motor? [/li][/list]

This is a misunderstanding (or it is if I am understanding you correctly).   The grate in no way moves the perforated drum along some continuum towards a solid drum.

"There is a crack in everything, That's how the light gets in." Leonard Cohen.

Offline afelli

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2017, 04:36:06 PM »